Parkin for Papa

Posted On 05/12/2012

Filed under Life, Loves
Tags: , , ,

Comments Dropped leave a response

First of all, this isn’t a post about driving skills. For those of you not in the know, parkin is a traditional Yorkshire ginger cake made for Bonfire night.

My dad (not really papa but I like alliteration) loves the stuff and as it was his birthday at the weekend (hence being off the grid), I made him a Parkin Birthday cake.

For the full recipe and instructions, please visit the BBC website.

To start, I lined my square tin. The instructions call for a “small, deep baking tray”, which sounds an awful lot like a cake tin to me!

Most of the dry ingredients (flour, oatmeal and ginger) were mixed together in a bowl.Parkin - Dry Ingredients

The sugar, butter, treacle and golden syrup are melted together in a saucepan – this is a heavenly smell and I struggled not to dip my finger in!Parkin - Melted Gooeys

Ooh, as a tip I saw on TV once, when spooning out treacle or golden syrup, douse your sppon in very hot water, this will stop the syrup or treacle sticking to the spoon and slide straight off – making it easier to measure.

Pour the contents of the saucepan into the mixing bowl and add the eggs and milk.Parkin - Complete Mix

Stir well. If you have a large mixer give it a go, but this is the kind of recipe I find needs a bit of muscle.Parkin - Ready to Go

Pour the mix into the tin and put in the oven, as per the instructions.Parkin - In the Tin

When it’s all cooked, let it cool slightly before removing from the tin. Leave on a wire rack to cool completely.Parkin - Fresh out of the Oven

When the cake is completely cold, wrap tightly in cling film and store it for three to five days to mature.

As a side note, when I did a trial run of this cake earlier in the month, I used rolled oats instead of oatmeal.

The cake did sort of work, but it was a bit drier than it should have been, so don’t worry too much if you can’t find oatmeal – but do check the cake to keep it at the sticky stage, rather than relying on the normal timing.

And on a final note, the verdict from me father is “Right flavour, texture is a bit close”

I might try another recipe next year.

Let me know what you think!

