Daily Prompt – Revisionist History

As things are still quiet on the Western front, I’m using another prompt post

Go back in time to an event you think could have played out differently for you. Let alternate history have its moment: tell us what could, would or should have happened?

I try not to have any regrets, as everything plays out the way it should and shapes us. We may not like it, but we learn from the negatives and embrace the positives.

Now I’ll stop being philosophical 😉

The one event which could have completely changed my world was when I was very little. At the time we were living in Bromley and my dad had just been made redundant.

He had three choices of new job; one in Bolton, one in Dubai and one in New York.

In this reality, he chose the job in Bolton and that is where I grew up.

Bolton Town Hall and the infamous Town Hall Steps

It’s hard to imagine which he would have chosen had Bolton not been an option.

(I have a feeling Dubai would have been off the table due to my sand phobia)

If I’d grown up in New York, I would have been in the culture I read so much about as a child. I could have attended a Summer Camp. And, more sobering, I would more than likely be in New York during 9/11.

On a random note, I wonder what my accent would be like if I’d grown up in New York? Currently, my accent is an amalgamation of all the areas I’ve lived. I don’t sound like a Southerner, Londoner, Northerner or Black Country, but I do have twangs of them all depending on what I’m saying.

I don’t claim to know all the regional accents of New York, but would that have meshed with the English accent? That would have been fun to hear/see?

One of my uni courses is Creative Writing, so it would be good to explore this topic if I get the chance and imagine the life I could have had.

Let me know what you think!

